Rumpy Pumpy

The weather promised 80% rain so I did well this morning when I went off to Pentire Head and took a walk around it with a visit to the The Rumps with its ancient iron age fort. I don't know why it's called The Rumps, it's probably something that comes from the Cornish language and is lost in time. However, it does look a bit like the two cheeks on an ancient nether regions. Just saying.

It was a lovely walk with so many wild flowers out. Lovely to see these bluebells growing on the cliff edge with the view out to The Mouls on which the St Piran's flag is flying. You might struggle to see that in my blip. I've added an extra of a male Stonechat which I saw on my way. I don't have a wildlife grade lens so used my 18-135 wide open and fully extended, so it's well cropped to get this shot.

After getting back to the van and enjoying a cheese roll and a cup of coffee, it looked like the rain might come in a bit more. There had been a few spits and spots on the way. I decided I would continue to Trebarwith Sands in the hope it would have passed by then. It didn't but I parked up and walked down anyway. The wind was blowing off the sea and throwing the rain at me. Daftly, I hadn't put on waterproof trousers and I got blippin' soaked to the skin. I didn't take a single picture either, it just wasn't worth trying.

I got back to the van and took the wet stuff off and put on dry. I hung the wettest bits up in the back and put the space heater on. My van has a wonderful deisel powered hot air system. I don't usually have it on when I'm driving but decided I would on this occasion. Phew, it gets warm even on mid power so after a while I had to open my window until I could find a layby to pull in and turn it off. The rain lashed down all the way back to the campsite. It;s stopped now but still spitting a bit. Shame I fancied going out to the lighthouse again to catch sunset. It's not e.worth thinking about with it like this. Oh well another time. Home tomorrow but I'll get another Cornish blip before I leave.

Many thanks for all your comments, stars and hearts on my lighthouse from Wednesday. It's on page 2 of the populars thanks to you and yesterday's is on page 5, I think :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.