Just for decoration?

This morning I was away to Wellington for a one day meeting. Left before sunrise, and back home after dark. I chose to take a run before heading out to the airport. I thought that I might go past a store or more with luggage in the window.

There was one in K Road. Not enough light to really show what was inside. In Symonds Street, was Gemmell's Shoe and Bag Repairs. This family business of cobblers was established in 1925, and has been open for business ever since. I remember when the grandson (I believe) of the founder of the firm took over its management (and working in the business) having completed a brief rugby career.

The company has branched out into bag repairs, and selling new luggage. I did get a picture of that, and then I saw this old leather-stitching machine in the glass cabinet beside the door into the shop. I am very pleased with how well it shows up.

A satisfying meeting, and a rapid flight away from the storm approaching Wellington, and now home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.