Giant In The Countryside

It's National Mills Weekend so I went looking for some to tilt my camera at. I went first to Cromer Windmill in Ardeley, the last one surviving in Hertfordshire. I enjoyed climbing it in the company of two young boys, one of whom was absolutely fascinated by the workings of a post mill. We were given a very detailed commentary by a volunteer. I had a nice chat with some radio hams who were using a wire attached to the sails to boost their signal. I got lots of shots with my camera tilted at every possible angle but was disappointed that it wasn't possible to get an uncluttered image of the whole structure.

I decided to visit Chishill Windmill over the county boundary in Cambridgeshire. This is an open trestle post mill but it wasn't open as it is awaiting restoration. I loved walking into the oil seed rape field and hearing and seeing various warblers. Last time I photographed a windmill I got a shot with storm light and the same thing happened today. :)

Today's poem is Skeins o Geese by Kathleen Jamie. http://www.versedaily.org/skeinogeese.shtml

I love this. It needs to be read aloud. I was cheered to read this in a review. "We'll never know our future, nor all the meanings of the world around us, just as we never know all the meanings of a poem. And that's OK. We can live without understanding everything. We have to." I was also interested that it is thought that the geese in question are pink-footed as they have a "lowin" call. The "Wire twists lik archaic script roon a gate" reminds me of a recent blip from HasItsCloud. Wish thebear could recite this for me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.