In My World

By JoanneInOz

Bottle Brush

Around the garden, the new growth and colours of spring are revealing themselves everywhere!

My camera and I had a wander around today, hoping to perhaps capture a bee or butterfly, showing their delight in the changing season, but no such luck.

In the front garden, the Callistemon is breaking out in flower and looks rather stunning in red. Commonly known as the Bottle Brush, it is a native to Australia and was spotted by Joseph Banks, way back in 1789. He was so impressed by what he saw that he toted back a Callistemon with him to England upon his return.

The birds, mostly the Minors and Honey Eaters, love the Bottle Brush flowers and I often see them hanging upside-down off the branches, enjoying the nectar.

I had hoped to capture a pic of one of the birds performing their hanging trick today, however the only one that landed in the tree took off as soon as my camera was poised!

Hopefully I will have better luck before the flowering season ends, as an upside-down bird blip is now on my blip wish list!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.