Raindrops on Black Velvet

One of the first things I did today was to archive this view of raindrops on one of our black velvet petunias, which I thought were sumptuous and stunning.

Sadly, the photo would not pass viewing at 100%. I should be more disciplined and get out my tripod to mount the macro lens.

My friend Sue has black velvet petunias. She told me she'd bought them at Thornton Nurseries, so that's where I went to get mine.

Although the flowers look black to the eye, the camera reveals that they are actually a very deep burgundy red in colour, rather like a mature wine.

Basil and I went to church coffee morning where Colin insisted looking at all my Hong Kong photos. We still hadn't quite finished by the time it came to pack up and go. There are rather a lot.

Kat, my daughter in law, who is expecting her first baby in four weeks, had invited me to her Baby Shower. I wasn't quite sure what that meant and thought it  might just be a drop in occasion as I didn't think she'd want to get too tired, but no, it's a party, and I was late! Well late by the time I got there.

They'd done the baby bingo and I was just in time for the present unwrapping. Not only baby gros, but ointments and creams for baby and Mum. I was able to offer the woollen pram wrap that my Mum had knitted for George while I was pregnant. It's become an heirloom.

More games, such as pin the moustache to the baby, guess Kat's circumference, fill in cards guessing dob, baby weight, baby name etc.

The only bloke there was Orlando who had been Kat's Man of Honour at the wedding. Anita was there to try and keep him in check.

George was off playing cricket.

Kat's 'sister in law,' Sophie, had come up with Kat's Mum from Essex that morning, leaving her baby Noah in Grandad's capable hands. He was sending photos constantly to show that Noah was content. Noah must be 6-8 weeks old now.

We avoided watching Eurovision, choosing an old episode of Midsomer Murders and the latter half of Woman in Gold, starring Helen Mirren. Then, of course MoTD. I retired to bed.

Extra is of Kat cutting the Baby Cake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.