Ives Head

It took a real effort of both body and spirit to get out today. For some reason, I have felt very weary, and despondent at increasing lack of mobility. It's an effort to walk far. Must be in my mind as I can do it if I try.

Anyway, it was a lovely day so I thought I'd go back up to Oaks in Charnwood where I'd spotted a charming scene yesterday of cows grazing in a field of buttercups edged by bushes smothered in white may blossom.

Of course, the light was different. There was rain in the atmosphere yesterday which gave a very fine misty feel. Today, it was breezy and the light seemed more stark.

Still, the gorse on Ives Head stood out well. Basil enjoyed romping in the meadow.

One thing about not being so mobile is that I stay more or less still in one spot and try out different shots. Today, I used a graduated filter to darken down the sky. This particular shot was given the HDR treatment in Lightroom, but still needed a LR grad filter to tone down the sky a bit.

You learn more about the capabilities of your camera and lenses by playing.

I took my Canon gear today and sturdy tripod. Can't keep that up. Too heavy. I imagined a device rather like the old harrier aircraft that would propel itself just above the ground carrying my bag and stuff. If only.

Back home, I quaffed the G&T that Kat had given me yesterday. Made me drowsy. Fell asleep during part 3 of Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy, the splendid BBC adaptation of the book released in 1979, which I am revisiting.

The environment is dark, the offices are poky, the British in charge are so public school, the acting is tremendous. The cast list is an actors' Who's Who. I noted how both Smiley and Control switched off electric lights and shut doors to conserve energy. My father always used to insist on turning off lights and closing doors. The series is so very of its time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.