Grateful Days

By Nickimags888

Mimic Hoverfly

I was feeling very uninspired today and didn't go out until late afternoon and I'm so glad I waited. I saw a bee-fly for the first time over here, so very excited.
A bee-fly is a mimic it looks like a bee but is in fact a fly. I'm not certain which one it is and am waiting for an ID from a local Facebook group.

This is actually a hoverfly and it's Volucella bombylans var. plumata. This particular one mimics the white-tailed bumblebee. The females of these hoverflies lay their eggs in the nests of social wasps or bumblebees, where the larvae live as scavengers, feeding on debris and occasionally on host's larvae. 

Skeena is still needing 2 hosts for Mono Monday, one for July and one September. It's not as scary as you might think but it is a lot of fun.
If you do fancy having a go contact him via his journal here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.