What’s on my desk – 2

Well, I am still writing, although a fair amount of housework has also been done today. And it has been a miserable day outside. I wish it would just rain and then clear up, instead of this gloomy, drizzly stuff.

 
This little set of drawers (it’s only 10 centimetres high) doesn’t usually get centre stage, it is just another of those things that has always been there and I have no real idea as to where it came from. I keep staples, paper clips etc. in it.
 

I suspect that it had something to do with my great uncle, whom I never knew and who was a cabinet maker. I have several pieces of furniture, which were made by him, including a beautiful inlaid piano stool. I no longer have a piano, just the stool. This piece is nowhere near as well-finished as the pieces of furniture, so I just wonder whether it was an early practice piece when he was an apprentice. Perhaps he gave it to his sister, my grandmother, and somehow I have it. Just a thought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.