Calm

A more relaxed day than yesterday. The weather was wet and windy until lunchtime, so that put a limit on what I could do anyway.

I did brave the elements twice. I went to see the Kindalton Cross which is quite near Lagavulin. It dates back to the 8th century they reckon. When you look at something 1,300 years old, right there in front of you in a church graveyard, it makes an impression.

I also went to Finlaggan over on the other side of the island. It was where the Lords of the Isles had their seat starting with Somerled in the 12th century. It’s a place of some significance in Scottish history of the period.

The afternoon was devoted to a gentle walk along the coast near Port Ellen.

Aye, quiet and relaxing.

The Blip is the Cross. The extras are the distillery across the road from where I’m staying, and one of the beaches I had to myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.