Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Fractured

Theme: Unlocking Inspiration, ALT Storytelling
 
This one represents what I sometimes see or feel.  It's what many of us who suffer from a serious mental illness experience.  In my case, the disease is Bipolar I Disorder.
 
I have good days and I have bad days.  When I'm manic, the world looks and feels like this.  When I'm depressed, the world looks and feels like this.  
 
I keep a lot to myself (believe it or not) because it's difficult to find people who understand.  We cannot 'snap out of it' or 'pull ourselves up by our bootstraps'. Don't let the media, news, television or movies be the source of your understanding. Help us defeat the stigma: the kind that has cost me my career, my friends and other relationships.
 
I am not my disease nor will I be defined by it.
I have  bipolar disorder. I am not  bipolar.
 
It's just that at times my world, my brain, is fractured.
 
May is Mental Health Awareness Month in the United States. 
Hopefully, the people around our President will hold an intervention...


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.