Birthday Presents - 1956

Dear Diary,

Well, another birthday is here but it doesn't have the same impact birthdays did growing up.  Then, I anticipated the day with just the same amount of excitement as Christmas.  There was always a delicious cake baked by my grandmother.  Sometimes she would use a bundt pan and place a small bouquet of flowers in the hole in the middle.

Then, of course, there was the presents.  This was a very special one on my seventh birthday.  My Auntie Stell gave it to me, a Madame Alexander doll.  It was like a dream and I was so proud of it.  Auntie Stell loved dolls too and I've included a photograph of her with one in 1938.  Sadly, she passed away the following year of cancer.  She was so young.

Today I will unwrap some memories of her.  She was the most kind and caring lady who knew what was really important to a little girl.  Memories are the best present of all and you don't have to wait to your birthday to unwrap them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.