Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Gila Monster

This wasn't what I had planned to post for Wild Wednesday but you grab your opportunities when they present themselves.

I once got a blurred photo of a Gila (Hee-la) Monster as it climbed over the wall in my yard.  This afternoon, I was driving up the hill to my house (50 yds from the desert) when I recognized it immediately.  It's a first for me. It was about 15 in (38 cm) long.

I hopped out of the car and approached it with my phone.  These pictures aren't the best size or angle but you really don't want the thing to catch you in its sight. It's one of only two poisonous lizards in the world.  Repeatedly flicking its tongue, I suspect it was seeking a mate.

For reference, the head is on the top/right side. In the extra, you can get a good look at it's legs and feet in motion. Gila Monsters are protected in Arizona and are on the Near Threatened Species List.

I found an interesting video.  It was made by the US Geological Survey. Definitely worth a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.