Teeny tiny

I love the tiny little weeds you find growing beside the road or in flower borders, mostly they get ignored, or pulled up and thrown away without a second glance. 
I found this little plant in one of the raised beds at work today, I only noticed it because it had different shaped leaves to the other weeds that were growing there, so intrigued I decided to photograph it to get a closer look.
On closer inspection the tiny purplish spurred flowers are really distinctive, which helped me to identify it as Small Toadflax Chaenorhinum minus,  which (according to Harrap ) is 'Rather local on dry, often chalky soils, railway lines,forestry rides, waste ground: also an uncommon and declining arable weed.
It is an ancient introduced annual which flowers between May and October, and when you see it in macro rather beautiful.
in fact I think I shall make tiny overlooked weeds another of my projects!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.