Baby Dunnock

A sunny day again so I spent most of it in the garden. I filled up the water baths as they were completely dry again.
We have a pair of Grey wagtails nesting by the burn and they've been in the field collecting the abundant flies, mainly St Marks flies. They are very quick, fluttering into the sky to catch them.  We have a song thrush, plenty of blackbirds collecting all kinds of bugs. I can hear the robins babies calling out from their nest near the garage. The starlings have been demolishing the suet squares, I do nt think it will be long before the noisy young appear. I saw swifts overhead, I can't remember seeing any before, we've always had swallows and house martins but not swifts. We've called our baby crow 'Flat Eric' as he still can't fly very well and spends most of his time pressed flat against the fence or on the grass.
This baby dunnock has been hopping round the garden for the last few days, they seem to be quite independent from the moment they have  fledged.
Richard is back fro a rainy London. He had a great time at a gig in a really small venue not much bigger than our lounge and dining room. He was standing on the 'stage' and got some very close up photos.
David had his last presentation which went well, just one my day of the exhibition left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.