If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Starling.

 I should have mentioned yesterday we had a rare ornithological occurrence in the garden yesterday.  We had a visit from not one but three starlings.  An adult and two juveniles.  We can go months without ever seeing a single one in the garden.

Since mid autumn I have been going to help Kanyl with various jobs on Thursday afternoons and today was no exception.  It was a beautiful hot day so mid afternoon we stopped for a beer break.or a beer break.  I was telling him about having three Starlings in the garden, so he sprinkled a handful of dried mealworms across the grass stopping almost at our feet.

Before we finished  our drinks there were a dozen starlings including 5 juveniles (which appeared to be from one clutch) gobbling frantically at them.  I tried a number of shots but owning to the speed at which they move a lot weren't as good as I hoped.  This was my eventual choice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.