If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Ants nest.

A busy day.  We were away 3 weeks touring Scotland and almost immediately I was off again with Kanyl.  This meant the grass at the Lodge was desperately in need of cutting.  Not quite chest high as Kaybee prophesied, but long enough.

So it was a strenuous couple of hours or so with the strimmer and mower.  On one of the banks we have a replica Ammonite a couple of feet across.  Over the years I have found the easiest way to keep the grass from growing up the sides is move it mow over the spot and then replace.

During the years there has been a thriving ants nest under it.  So I lift the ammonite leave them a few minutes to take the eggs and grubs underground, mow and replace.  My knowledge of insects is not deep and I assume these are the common garden Black Ant.  However those ants bite and in 14 years of disturbing the nest and having ants run over my hands I have never been bitten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.