Life Savors

By osuzanna

The Zoo

While my husband went to his baseball game this afternoon, I went to the Pittsburgh Zoo.  It wasn’t the best zoo, because some of the habitats were small and many animals could only be viewed through glass (and dirty glass at that).  It was also another very hot day, so many of the animals were taking afternoon siestas, but there were two habitats that were quite large, with several open air viewing areas: the elephants and gorillas.  I must have spent an hour with the gorillas, who were just fascinating to watch. There was a juvenile gorilla who was quite entertaining, harassing his mother, throwing grass at her, eating bark, putting bark on his head, and frequently pounding his chest.  This is Mom, looking at me as if to say, do you believe this kid? 

At the elephant exhibit, I captured an intimate moment between the mother and her babe.  I have loaded that one into extras along with a shot of the Silverback (Dad). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.