An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

That EUREKA Moment!

Eureka!!
THE moment that the sunset literally BURST out from behind a troublesome, dominating big bank of cloud - and as many others witnessed, photographed - and Blipped, an amazing, I mean seriously gorgeous sunset developed.

But unlike most, I'm up 244m on Cley Hill, about 4 miles southwest of Warminster. The highest of all the Warminster hills, and unlike all the others, it stands alone, not part of a ridge, as if someone had literally just dropped a great big pudding of a hill, a distinctively shaped one, that can be seen for miles afar. Like some of the other local big hills, it was a site for an iron age hillfort.

I'd not been there for two years. And had forgotten the way and, despite the large scale OS map, gone awry and had literally walked halfway round the entire Longleat "Forest", which includes CentreParcs. Not that wasn't an attractive activity and route, it was a frustrating one and more than once, I questioned whether I should not give up and make my way back to Warminster station, especially when it appeared to cloud over.

This view is looking over towards Frome and into Somerset. There were a few other people up there, but I was the only photographer - and I literally went into overdrive for the next half hour, switching between lenses 35mm eqv from 16.5mm to 800mm!! SO many I could have Blipped, but this sort of encompassed the largest number of qualities that includes the view and the sun breaking through.

There is something most uplifting and wonderful when you feel and seem to be on the same level and height as the sun, either rising, or setting. It could be the Himalayas - or mid west Wiltshire....

I them did, of course, have to spend the next hour and half finding my way back to the last train of the day - and to not get lost, the first part of which was in near darkness. 

Let there be LIGHT!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.