An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Street Urchin....

...on the underpass, just before midnight, on my late night prowl.

It's on the top corner of a large mural painted a number of years ago to loosely describe the history of Salisbury; without words or dates.

Called the Milford Hill Bridge Project, painted by local professional artists, It's on the lower parts of massive concrete slabs of the overpass that takes Salisbury's ring-road around the City. In all this time (ten years?) not one part has been damaged or daubed or grafiti'd over.

Armed only with my DX Sigma Art 30mm f1.4, I shot wide open. It was much brighter on the left side, with orange streetlamps. The cheeky, peering figure was mostly lit with a light/s of a more natural colour temperature, so I did not have to alter the colour of him at all. 

I darkened considerably the left side but I liked the splash of orange at the top and the car headlights just hitting the wall. If you cover these up with your hand, you might feel as I do, that the image loses impact in some way. Or, you might not.

But, the point is that something to almost everyone else  would be meaningless, in the middle of the night, can become something more. I'm pleased with the outcome, and as I photograph primarily to please myself, then that is fine. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.