An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

From Bus Station, to....

Yep, flats for the elderly.

This eyesore in central Salisbury has been in development for seemingly, ages. The crane is definitely only dwarfed only the Cathedral Spire, in terms of height.

Before I'd got my Street Urchin Blip, I had walked by this building site and seen the stars above and the scaffolding poles reaching forever upward. I had had a quick catch-up with Tom, now chief photographer of the Salisbury Journal and had a quick discussion on how they were going to be covering the International Arts Festival, which starts on the 26th. 

So, I had in mind to return to this building site with a tripod and very wide lens, perhaps to submit to the Journal (which I have since done) how such an eyesore has the potential of looking a bit more beautiful at night.

So, at about 1 .a.m. I did such but unfortunately, the Homeless Hostel that is opposite had some 'residents' - or friends of - who did not see it that way and I did indeed get a load of hassle. When I was interned in such homeless hostels myself back (a long time ago) we were locked in at 8pm! Times have moved on since then, of course, but, hey, I have as much right to utilise a public space to take photographs as they have to f and blime and drink and smoke hard substances.

Anyway, this is the result. I'm glad I did it, but, hey, as soon as this one came out OK, (about the tenth try, - flare kept getting into the right hand side, despite it not showing in the viewfinder and a lenshood, so a change of positioning was the only answer.) I was glad to get out of there. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.