Appointment Week Day 2

I mentioned on Sunday that this week had the potential to be a little tricky with all the appointments of various kinds going on.  Yesterday Dad had to go for his assessment appointment to have his Blue Badge Disabled parking permit renewed,  Those of you who have been paying attention will remember that this is the one he forgot to renew by 3 March.  Yesterday he was panicking/worrying about where the place was he needed to go to.  I thought he was going to go to the lunch club at church where he normally spends Monday morning and then go straight for his appointment.  Anyway, he phoned me at 8.30 to say he couldn't find the postcode for the satnav.  I said I would find it and phone him back with it.  He said Mom was up and they were going to go out together.  I phoned back with the post code and the phone was engaged, again and again and again.  So I got myself ready quickly and drove round.  It's not far.  By the time I had got there, Mom had gone back to bed and was definitely not going out anywhere.  I gave Dad the postcode, told him to go to his club and his appointment and I would go back to see Mom a little later and make sure she was all right.  OK he said.  Two hours later, i went back.  He was still there.  Hadn't gone to his lunch club, still worrying about his afternoon appointment.  Phone call to SHH got him round to be taxi service and chaperone.  Then I set about getting Mom up.  Still difficult.  That was yesterday.

Today is another day.  Today there were three appointments to sort out for Dad.  The first one was at 9.30am at one of the Birmingham Hospitals for a Dermatology appointment, to be followed by a little trip to the Hearing Walk in Clinic to start the process of getting an NHS Hearing Aid to replace one of his expensive private ones he keeps damaging or losing.  The three appointment was back at dermatology to do something else with his head. We went through the arrangements about 5 times with him and wrote it all down too.

So, I went round at 8.15 to spend the morning with Mom so Dad could just focus on his appointments.  Pulled onto the drive, all curtains closed, all doors locked.  Let myself in, called upstairs, Mom heard me - I woke her up, and she woke Dad up.  He needed to be out of the house in 10 minutes. Aaaaaaggggghhhhhh.  Cooked him a bacon sandwich to take with him, made a cup of tea for them both, sorted Mom's insulin, sent Dad off for his appointment expecting to see him again at about 3pm.

I won't bore you with the strategies employed to stop Mom getting back into bed.

At 10.30, knock on the door.  Dad.  Complete with big blue dressing on head to match shirt.  Didn't expect to see you, Dad.  What did they say at the hearing clinic?  Oh. I haven't been there...   Aaaaaggggghhhhhh!

SHH to the rescue again.  Rob, can you take Dad for his appointment to see if he can have a hearing aid?  Why hasn't he been?  Don't ask.

Oh, and I forget to mention that he took the wrong letter to the dermatology appointment so couldn't check in so thought he'd gone on the wrong date which he hadn't and he obviously couldn't hear what they were saying to him but they treated him anyway.

Then we rustled up some lunch, at which point my sister arrived (I swear she can sense the food!) and then Dad had to go back to the Hospital for his afternoon dermatology appointment.  I just hope that went ok.  

Now there are two more appointments for Dad in the diary for next week, and there's one for tomorrow.  Wish me luck!

This is the lunch party demonstrating Dad's attractive blue dressing...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.