Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Red campion

I found this during my walk on Barton Farm (okay, I didn't go all the way round!).  It's most common British name is red campion, but in the West Country it's often known as cuckoo flower.  It flowers in hedges and woodland at just the time the cuckoo is singing, often with bluebells and early purple orchids, though none of those today.

The cuckoo comes in April,
He sings his song in May,
In June he changes his tune,
In July he flies away.

We no longer hear the cuckoo this close to the city (we used to) but I'm told they're back as usual just a short way down the Itchen valley.  I know they rob nests, but they are such iconic birds you'd think we could look after them.  It seems they are much rarer these days.

So this is another in my Barton Farm occasional series.
Have a great evening, peeps  xx

And I have just heard of the Manchester bombing via another blipper - it leaves you numb, doesn't it, and with nothing sensible to say.  those poor poor families

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.