Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Side by side

On the news last night there was a segment sampling the places round the country and round the world that were expressing solidarity with Manchester,  One, I noticed, was Winchester, so with an appointment in town this morning I left early and went to the cathedral to see if there was a book of condolence.  There wasn't, but there was an area where you could light a candle specifically for Manchester, its people and all who had suffered loss.  With it was a very moving prayer written by a Minor Canon at Manchester Cathedral.  I think a lot of people will have gravitated to that spot today.

When I came out I walked round the corner to the south side of the building, to this space under the flying buttresses known as Curle's Passage.  The light was incredibly beautiful and the two figures here just said to me 'side by side'.  Manchester, we are all with you on this long path and grieving for your loss..

Have a peaceful evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.