Striding Edge*

I had a much needed and simply wonderful day in the mountains today.
As a Manchester lad I had a bad night and knew I wasn't myself this morning - but I also knew the mountains were my best chance of making peace with another incomprehensible tragedy.
I thought long and hard about what to write tonight, we have family and friends affected by this, our nation rightly is in mourning, and I was out playing in the hills. But, and its a big but, it's a but at the heart of who I would always hope to be - we should celebrate our joys, proclaim the good times - shine our light into the dark. Everyone we passed today got and gave a hearty hello - smiling faces were in equal measure to sombre chat, I suspect many people were finding their own sense of peace. As we descended we passed a distance from a group singing the songs of their faith - and whilst the words were muffled and private it seemed good to know they too were communing in the grandest cathedral of all.

*Out with FWG we hit a long standing commitment - a promise made when she started her journey into mountaineering - Striding Edge as equals, no guiding, no instructing, just a good solid day to be had for the joy of probably the finest walk in England with a fellow mountain lover. It's been a pleasure to see and today was fitting reward for such good endeavour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.