ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Whipped Wind.

Tonight my plan was to take a nice flowing photo of the River Dee, with all the whitewater looking misty and pretty. In reality, I arrived at the park as it began to rain (again), and the river was running so fat and high that there was no white water at all, just a rolling mass of black water racing towards to the sea. The wind was really beginning to pick up, so I ended up turning my Variable ND Filter to almost 400-stop and taking a long exposure of the view over the river, with the movement of the wind whipping through the trees captured on the right. You can also see (in large) a couple of runners and dog walkers as coloured streaks on the path and grass; I was quite pleased with this effect as a first shot with the ND.

I only took a couple of shots before it was time to wander over to M's Mum and Dad's house for my tea - a lovely soup followed by a baked meatball dish - yum yum. After we'd eaten we moved to the comfy sofas for a catch-up and to watch the Great British Bake-Off. I think I'm a decent baker - until I see the standard of these guys! I don't think my pineapple upside-down cake would cut it!

As we chatted, I noticed the sunset over Aberdeen was absolutely beautiful tonight, but I was a bit too comfy on the sofa to go and photograph it - very lazy! I did see a couple of Aberdeen-locals on Blip had caught it though, and very pretty it was too. Home to email M and for a relatively early night, another highly exciting day in my life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.