ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Blue Moon.

Came into work today to a huge amount of work - a rush job that had to be out by Friday, with one of the girls that would usually help me away on annual leave. Luckily myself and one of the other girls worked hard on it all day, and made really good progress, despite one minor setback. We'd received a chemical dosage in lb/barrel, which we spent ages converting into mg/L to put in our Risk Quotient calculation sheet. Once in, the result wasn't a sensible number, but we suddenly noticed that the unit should have been 'ppb', not mg/L. Cue lots of extra maths to turn the dosage into 'parts per billion'. Bizzarely, the calculation result STILL didn't make sense... Until one of the other ladies in the office told us that 'ppb' meant 'pounds per barrel', not 'parts per billion'. That was our original unit! Everyone (other than myself and the other girl who had been working on the calc) thought this was hilarious - we won't make that mistake again!

After work I took a wander to the beach and saw the most beautiful moonrise; this photo really doesn't do it any justice. I was experiencing a few problems with flare from the moon, which was a bit annoying; probably could have been solved by a polarising filter, but since I already had my ND filter on, I couldn't add the polarising one too. Once I'd lowered the ISO a bit I ended up with this one, which I was quite pleased with.

Home to curl up on the sofa for a wee bit before bed; the weather was quite autumnal today and it seemed to get dark really quickly.

This wasn't quite a blue moon - that will fall tomorrow. The things you learn from Blip - Hopps1's entry for today is beautiful and much more factual than mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.