ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Collieston Bay.

Mmmh, sun. Feels like we've not had enough of that recently. And it's September! We woke up to a warm flat today; the temperature of our home is so linked to the weather I can tell if it's raining before I'm even awake. When we peeked out the curtains, the sun streamed in - so easy to get up early when the sun is out! I lounged in bed late anyway, while M got up and made us coffee. When we were slightly more awake, we put on some summer clothes (M was delighted to wear shorts - I don't know how it is that his legs are always tanned despite living in Aberdeen?) and took the car down to the harbour. Today was Open Doors day in Aberdeen so we went to the lifeboat station to help out with showing the public around. When we arrived there were lots of lifeboatmen/women and M wasn't needed, so we took the opportunity to have a slightly more relaxed weekend before M started in his new job on Monday. We decided to drive out to Collieston, which was a brilliant journey in the sun with the top down on the Porsche; a day for a convertible if there ever was one. We sat on the beach and had a picnic and a paddle in the sea, and watched the tide gently come in to fill the bay. We went rockpooling as the sun got really warm, but didn't find anything too amazing - although I think I spotted the world's smallest generic crustacean - it was so small that I couldn't even see what it was properly!

We spent a couple of hours on the beach soaking up some much needed Vitamin D, then headed back to M's Mum and Dad's via the shops to pick up BBQ fodder. We sat in the garden until the sun disappeared completely, then headed inside for X Factor and coffee. I've been thinking about the house lots tonight and am slightly upset about it; I feel like I'm being pushed into a decision and I can't work out whether my bad feeling is from the house itself (fears over it being too big; too much to take on; the likelihood of it feeling like home) or the feeling of being pushed into a decision (something that I've always bridled against). M and I had a heart-to-heart about it when we got home, and we've decided to just give it a go - I don't feel like we have much choice anyway, sometimes these "gifts" turn into some sort of monster when other people get involved - but we don't want to live to regret the decision later. Best just to give it a try and give up on it later if we don't like it.

There's a lot wrong with this photo. I don't care; it's a reminder of a wonderful day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.