ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

In The Rough.

This morning was a little fraught. I can't help but feel we're making a terrible decision in taking on a huuuge house that doesn't belong to us at this stage in our lives... And it doesn't help that no one (other than my Mum, who obviously understands completely - cos she's my Mum!) gets where I'm coming from - although M is trying really hard. We drove to the beach for a walk this morning and discussed it again, to make sure we really, really want to give it a go. I'm concerned that if we shut off half the rooms in the house and pretend they don't exist (neccessary, as we certainly won't be able to find a use for them all, and I'm not cleaning 6 bedrooms!), I'll never feel like we belong in the place, rather we'll feel like we're living in an empty hotel. If we could just shut off all-but-one floor, I'd feel fine about it, but the kitchen, bathrooms and main bedroom are all on different floors, so there's no way we could do that. Anyhow, I'm an emotional wee thing and ended up taking a bit of time to walk home on my own to get my head round it; I hadn't realised that I'd given M a bit of a fright and he was worried I was cross with him. Obviously not the case! By the time I'd walked back to our wee flat I'd sorted myself out a bit and M and I went round to his Mum and Dad's house to ask them to contact their neighbour and tell him we'd take on house-sitting duties. Don't get me wrong, it's a lovely, lovely offer from him - I'm just a scaredycat and so desperate not to live in a house that doesn't feel like home. I realise how ridiculous it sounds to be umming-and-ahhing about such an awesome offer, but you can't help how you feel, and writing it down really really does help.

Anyhow, M and I both feel much better for having made the decision, so we decided to head off for a round of golf at Aspire. M beat me AGAIN; I think there's only ever been one time I beat him so I've got to step it up a bit. I never take my camera onto the course, so this is the ball on our lawn at home - considerably less well-kept than Aspire's fairways.

After lunch at the clubhouse we headed home to catch the highlights of the Grand Prix and relax on the sofa. I made us a new recipe for tea which worked out really nicely - chicken thighs stuffed with couscous, toasted almonds and apricots; yum

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.