Journey Through Time

By Sue

Last Gasp of Summer

I'm a Pisces. I have a difficult time making decisions. But, I chose this one because I rarely have people in my photos. This family is enjoying a fine summer day at Lewisville County Park. This is the Lewis River and the park is the oldest regional park, established in the 1930's. It has that 1930's feel to the whole place. One side of the park follows the river and then you can take a trail that leads into the woods. We did that today and we enjoyed our outing very much. Of course you can see some of the river and the trail on my Flickr page.

Then we stopped by O'Brady's Drive-In, which has been in one location since 1962. The state has decided it needs the property to build a bigger, safer intersection and so they have been given the boot. Their last day at this place is on Saturday. I didn't know that until we went there, and we were so glad we decided to go and split a burger and fries and get some milkshakes from them. For some people in Clark County, they have been going here for years and years. We found it a few years ago and have only been there a handful of times, but we feel badly for them and hope they will be able to relocate. They are getting some good support from the community. You can see that the drive in is returning the love.

The east wind is blowing again, bringing warm, dry air into Vancouver/Portland area along with forest fire smoke. You can actually see the smoky air in this image. It is supposed to get hot tomorrow and Friday. I'm sure there will be some people heading to the rivers again. And to O"Brady's for some lunch and/or treats.

Hope everybody is well and life is treating you fair. See ya later, my Blip buddies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.