White Pigeon, Red Door

The pain in my back and hip has subsided a lot but hasn't gone away totally. I caught the bus into Loughborough at 1pm to go and sit in Aziz' shop while he went to the mosque. I couldn't get to the shop in time for his departure.

Just by the bus stop, I  noticed the red door for the entrance to Love Loughborough cards which I had read about earlier this week. And above the door, was this white pigeon, presumably resting on a lintel of some kind.

Is it a pigeon, or a dove, or something in between? She (I assume it's a she who might be sitting on a nest), was undeterred by passers by. Maybe she's too ill to worry.

Aziz had got Carlos to stand in the shop doorway to wait for me because he thought I'd be in too  much pain to come in. Carlos remained resolutely on guard until Aziz returned.

We had a huge laugh about Aziz' vet bill this morning. He'd taken his daughter with her pet rabbit to the vet. A maggot was eating its fur under one of its legs. The vet removed the fur, then somebody washed and shampooed it, announcing that the rabbit was old, at four years of age. 

Aziz almost fell through the floor when he saw the bill for £200. Don't tell my brother, he urged me. He'll be so angry. Mohsine would have taken the animal home and put it in the pot.

I was able to walk to Sainsburys to shop, but not to carry the bags home on the bus. I called Len and asked him to fetch me.

We really enjoyed our barbecue and salad outside tonight. A breeze has come up, which has tempered the high temperatures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.