Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Friday in Yosemite - leaves and shadows

It is our last day today. It's also been very challenging because of the huge influx of visitors ready for this holiday weekend.

Those of you who know the place will know that there is a one way system around the valley. This means that if you miss a turn, you have a very long drive around to find it again. When the traffic is nose to tail, this is even worse.

We left early and ate breakfast at a grill is Yosemite Village. We then found that already the place was heaving and the road we wanted was closed off. So, we tried Sentinel Beach, but the car park was closed.

Eventually we stopped by a meadow and had a couple of hours of photography before retreating to our hotel for lunch. In the woods opposite the meadow I found these interesting shadows on the rocks. I enjoyed photographing these, but was less enamoured with the nasty biting gnats who were delighted to see me!

After an afternoon rest, we set out again and stopped at the Swinging Bridge. I walked back to Sentinel Beach. It is not a beach, but a forest clearing for picnics and the forest has been burnt out here.

From there I was able to turn and see Sentinel Rock, towering above me. Great excitement - there were clouds. They have been very scarce all week. My extra is a long exposure to show the cloud passing over the rock. I've done a quick conversion to mono. (Can't wait to try some of the others in mono, following in the footsteps of Ansel Adam.)

We ended the day at Tunnel View because there were clouds. In fact, there were too many tonight. It can't be helped.

We ate pizza again.......

I'm packed and ready for the off in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.