Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Is there a family likeness?

Here we have (Auntie) Debs and (Nephew) Sam. Sam plays with the band Pons Aelius, a sextet "taking tradition to places it never thought to go.."

They play fiddle, flute, bagpipes (yes), recorders, bass, guitar, mandolin and drums. There music is mainly fiery and loud. 

I'm definitely getting old when I wonder why the music has to be amplified and why all (most) male folk musicians come on stage in crumpled clothes and looking as though they haven't seen a hairbrush for days. 

Peter, one of our Wednesday walkers, told me that his nephew plays in the band. At least that's what I thought he told me. Sure enough, Sam on flute looked so like Peter. After the concert I met them and discovered that Peter is no blood relation of Sam's but is Peter's partner's nephew. How funny. I should have included Peter in the photo to prove my point!

The other Marjorie and Jenny came this afternoon, so the conversation was very lively. Jenny's memory continues to deteriorate but she enjoys the conversation she is part of at that moment.

The cats are slowly warming up again, but neither will go back in the wardrobe, from where they were plucked to go to see the vet. I'm ordering gauntlets ready for another time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.