Afternoon tea

Standing either side of Susan are our friends from Ontario, Elaine to the left and Marion. I've known Marion since 1982 when I spent a year in teaching at Pickering High School near Toronto. We've kept in touch all these years. We've been to see her, staying in her house while she's travelling, visited her island near Parry Sound. Marion is an Anglophile, always over here. She was last over for our Christmas do!

Debs is the other person. We've known Debs since 1995 when I joined Woodlands High School. Along with quite a few other teachers from that school we've kept in touch, been on holidays and walking together. Good times. Mind you I think the friendships developed in the face of adversity as the school was a tough one to teach in and we needed to have a united front.

As you might guess Marion and her sister Elaine are over in England and dropped over for afternoon tea. There's only one scone left. Anyone want it? I asked them to stand in the shade to get a better shot but they had other ideas. Serves them right.

The morning was spent at the gym and then a bit of shopping including buying various bottles of wine. I made a special effort to conduct my exercises in silence this week after people admired my excessive grunting last week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.