BikerBear's Blips

By BikerBear

Spinning Spider

My apologies to all arachnophobics (really sorry Mum!!).....

If you can bear it, take a look on LARGE as you can actually see the "proteinacious spider silk extruding from the spinnerets" (it's spinning a web to us mortals).
It's a touch noisy but I don't have a macro lens so camera handheld with my 18-105mm lens and cropped in.

It is said that the tensile strength of spider silk is greater than the same weight of steel and has much greater elasticity. It is also said to be under investigation for potential applications in industry, including bulletproof vests (give me Kevlar everytime, please!!) and artificial tendons.

Thanks to everyone who helped yesterdays ivory rose creep into the last spot on the spotlight page at 7.00 am this morning - very much appreciated. I think it lasted 15 minutes!!!!!

Update on the try-out flower and rings shots for the forthcoming wedding - I took almost 450 shots in total - I have 5 I like!!!! Slighly over 1%! Grrrrrrr.
I have made a note of the camera settings, lenses used etc and just hope I can reproduce with the actual flowers on the day (or the day after or the day before - lol)


Happy Thursday.


NIKON D90 : f/5.6 : 1/2500" : 105mm : ISO 200 : EV -1.7

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.