An English Field

Ventured out of the Lake District National Park this morning to avoid Bank Holiday overcrowding.  We went to a Craft Fair in Greystoke, and then for a wander around Cladbeck.  What a lovely day!  The weather app has been threatening a storm all day and it has now been and gone.  Cooler now which is not unwelcome.  This shot was taken near Greystoke and I love the layers of colour.

Living on


If I should die, think only this of me
That there is some corner of an English field where I would long to be.
There could be in that field of green, the spirit of mine absorbed,
as in the air, the atmosphere, what was me
Still is.


So there you will find me, one day as you walk.
Wherever you be, I will be too.
For if you think of me, my soul will sing
and you, knowing this, will smile.


An English field, a field of home, will be what we will be.
A spirit, a soul, a passing thought, a fleeting glimpse from the past.
That will be us.  It will be there. 


You may not know it all the time.  But at times you will.
We will.
Remember.  And know that death is not all.


There will be some corner of a field somewhere...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.