Salt's Mill

I went across to Saltaire late this morning to visit the annual Saltaire Arts Trail;  the exhibition and events take place over a large area -  in the mill itself, in halls and in private houses.  For the main part though there was enough for me to enjoy in the mill and although I did go further afield the mill was where I spent the majority of my time.  I'd intended using one of my exhibition blips as my main pic, but I preferred my shot of the mill over anything else I did today.  

I've photographed the mill many times and often from this exact spot, but I never stop being in awe of it's size and the history, both of the mill, its workers and Sir Titus Salts who built the village and for whom it's named. Apparently Saltaire has arguably the finest example of Italianate architecture in England, and in  2001 it  was designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. 

Many thanks for visiting my journal and the kind response to yesterday's FF Blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.