"SNAP!" It's WHY we went.

As is, regularly, the case on days like this we were spoilt for choice; however, as I said, THIS is why we went.
A couple of weekends ago Jerra & I were down in the area for a few days. Typical of me ... "I'm not proud, I'll talk to anybody." we learnt, from a passing stranger that there were rare orchids in the area.


"Features of interest.
The lady’s-slipper orchid is the rarest of all British wildflowers. Once thought to be extinct in the UK, this special plant has since been rediscovered and a national species recovery program has been launched. Gait Barrows is now home to a thriving population of reintroduced plants."

With typical skill and efficiency we both forgot to import the wee Step-stool which made Alice's entries & exits easier; before we left. 
To force me out of the house: never having left it, ALONE, since Alice's death, (except to shop, or with Jerra & Clicky) I went down to retrieve it. It was, probably, cheaper to just ignore it.
 En route I passed one of the Gait Barrow entrances; so I stopped & photoed the notice on the gate.
Next day I phoned "them" and discovered their flowering season was almost over, hence today's trip.
I'm pleased I phoned, because mine, at home, are not yet open.
Whilst spoilt for choice I suspect the two of us may VERY WELL have somewhat similar Blips today.
There is, however, a remote chance he may mention the short, copper, pipes I haven't. (Only just visible, bottom left in the extra.)
;¬)

11th Jun - having returned, for some other reason, I see there is one of the "anti-slug" copper pipes in shot.

Addendum:- Don't know which one, but ONE of us must be a day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.