Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Germander Speedwell

It was unusual having no-one in the lodge at this time of year but we took advantage of this and got a bit of maintenance done.

I was weeding the flowerbed and noticed Veronica there! I should remove it because, as a plant it is an obvious weed, but to someone who appreciates nature, and particularly flowers, it is so beautiful.

I am particularly fond of this plant because, as a 19 year-old I got my first job. It was in a school science lab and I had to make posters for the walls, all neatly drawn and labelled. They were big, they had to be stored in a map chest. One I was particularly proud of was one of a cross-section through a germander speedwell, probably copied from the Mackean Biology text book, the green one with the skeleton and the venous or nervous system on the cover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.