Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

And the nursery is officially open

Hubs and I were having breakfast in the kitchen when Hubs noticed a young house finch sitting on a branch fluttering its wings and begging like mad.  Being that he prides himself on NOT knowing much about birds, I'm sure he's secretly horrified that he recognized the behavior as that of a juvenile bird.  We both enjoyed watching the poor beleaguered father feeding the demanding youngster and after we finished our own meal, I crept out with a camera to get some shots.  A rainy day, my favorite for backyard birds.  

I actually spent way too much time outside today, much of it hunkered under our canopy to keep myself and my camera dry.  Lots of things coming and going in the yard, including a bear that made it about halfway between the woods and our deck before I spotted it.  Yelling and clapping of hands had it running back into the woods.  No time for pictures on that one.  A little later, one of the foxes trotted through the yard, marking its territory as it went.  Birds, squirrels, and chipmunks every where.

I posted 3 other shots on Flickr, starting HERE with Madame issuing order to Monsieur Bleu and following with a shot of the fox and a woodpecker being photobombed by a cardinal.  

Took a break late morning to run over and have a visit with MIL.  She was on her game today, quite a change from yesterday.  Anyway, we had some laughs before I left her to have lunch in the dining room.  

Today is Memorial Day, a day to honor the men and women who have given their lives so that we may live ours in freedom.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.