Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Clear way

Look at this... 7:15pm and the highway is EMPTY! It's LOVELY. I got reminded today what a joy it is to drive at this time during Ramadan. The reason is because it is Iftar, the time that the fast is broken, so everyone should be somewhere eating. The worst/most dangerous time to be on the road is the time just before.

So today, I had a mega running around time; first getting all the papers together to apply for a visa to visit Cyprus. I thought I had it all, but got to the counter to be told my bank statements had to be stamped by the bank(!) and there was one more thing. I had to race to the bank for said printouts with stamp; amazingly they only charged £5. Had to collect another bit of paper from home, at which point I realised I need to do some mega sorting/collating of important documents.

G came home just as I was leaving to resubmit my application, so she came with me. All done in less than an hour in the end, but boy was it hot and humid today. Totally draining if you're out and about and your car a/c doesn't work so well.

And somewhere in between, I managed to get a load washed at Pauline's. Haven't heard a thing from the washing machine guys. G & I drove around the area of town they said they were based in to see if we could find them. No joy, but that is also because there is a one way system that I didn't have the stamina to persevere with. Our bible study tonight was about grace, so I'm wondering if I should report them to the Consumer Rights department, incompetent as they may be! :-|

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.