Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Looking up

I don't know why, but these flame trees are pretty hard to photograph in any meaningful way; or maybe it is just the harsh lighting we've got at this time of year. Or both. Whatever, here is my best offering of pictures taken today.

I took the Volvo for a car wash after dropping G off. It's the first day of work after Ramadan started. I thought the roads would be manic, but they were all very clear. Nice surprise. So much so, that G was fifteen minutes early!

Not a long wait at the wash, and as the whole of the interior gets vacuumed and polished, I stood in the shade under the flame trees nearby and *tried* to get some artistic shots. The flowers are so complex and the compound leaves go everywhere when they dry up. It's fascinating to watch them fall off the tree when there's a strong breeze.

Picked G up and we drove over to the christian bookshop. G had a big list of volunteers to buy end of year gifts for. The shop is under renovation but they fitted in as much as they could in a tiny space. Always great to go there but you can build up a tab quite quickly with loads of cool stuff.

And in the evening, the washing machine men came (an hour after the time given) to replace the "faulty" pump. They put in the new one and did a test. No joy. Argh! And they filled the machine with so much water as well! End result: It has to be taken away again (!) but not before the water had to be drained out. I did it myself this time. It takes more than a few minutes to calm down after they've been, so I'm surprised I actually typed out this journal entry almost straight away. I have to work on my irritation levels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.