Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Ramadan Refrigerator

Excuse this photo, it was taken at noon with the sun right above me and I could barely compose it because of the glare! I had just taken the photo when a security guard ran out to ask what I was doing.

To explain, a few years ago, someone started an initiative to have fridges in different locations during Ramadan. These would house important items like water, dates, juices, laban and fresh fruit for people who need them when it was time to break their fast. A great idea, and as this is placed outside G's school, it gets the children involved as they bring things to put in it.

The security guard thought I was helping myself to some water. Apparently, people have been bringing shopping bags and taking things en masse! I explained I hadn't even opened the door and that I was just taking a picture.

So, the day started well. I actually got a cup of tea brought to me! I was having my breakfast when I heard the front door open. It was G! She was on her way to work when the car threw a wobbly and she just drove straight back, so together, we drove to the Peugeot garage. Khalid (the service advisor who's been helping us since 2011) reckons it is a build-up of carbon on the engine and needs to be cleaned. It is a very detailed and long job and because the garage has a shorter working day due to Ramadan, it is going to take longer than normal. Our hearts sank. It is the last thing we need especially as the Volvo is out of action as well.

Fortunately, there is a car hire desk right there, so we've got some wheels for a week. We went to the bible study in the evening. There was CAKE for Brian's birthday. :)

The best news though is that we now have an alternative to PayPal for online payments. This is huge. An important item to have in place before we launch again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.