When in Rome...

By 1:30pm I could really take no more sunshine, despite having Paul Beatty's book in front of me which at times seems like the funniest and also the cleverest book I've ever read. So, I pulled on a t-shirt, stopped briefly for a portrait, and went down to get one of the hotel's fat-tyred bikes. Out along the wharf, then along to the lighthouse at West Cliff to watch the surfing. Back past the Boardwalk and up the river to the top of downtown, if that makes sense. A cool coffee roaster place looked good for a visit so I got settled with my americano and almond croissant on a stool in the window. And blimey who appeared outside but the sidekick. With a gift - a second hand Beach Boys CD. We shall sing our way back to the airport tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.