Club 107

By club107

If you only had an idea where I slept last night

Up and out very early this morning wandering round the deserted streets which resembled more 28 days later than modern day India. Semi packs of dogs competed for scraps with cows, actually quite unnerving to be honest, but the cows win through size and the sacred status they carry. I wandered around watching people waking up, brushing their teeth, getting ready for a day's work, the stench of some of the areas was pretty rank, but I may be out wandering in the same place tomorrow. Sadly the chai sellers are not really operating that early, the general practise is business runs late, which is why the shift patterns of some of my colleagues is a never ending struggle.

On the way to work I saw two children asleep under an underpass of a major road, probably aged 5.
Work was amusing as we ran some pretty rock and roll commands to ensure wheels of industry keep on turning to a soundtrack of thug life. The people I am working with are pretty exceptional, patiently coming to sit out in the searing temperatures with the Scottish guy who likes being warm.

After work we got a tuk tuk to the nearest metro station then went into central Delhi where I wandered around pretty much hassle free. I hesitated on the tuk tuk shot but this photo was taken on the way home and to me sums up so much about this place, people tired, crammed into a metro wagon.

Chai then bed, I think coffee will be progressively replaced by chai.

35

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.