BJH

By BJH

Great Crested Grebes

The camera was struggling a fair bit with the still poor light early this morning but eventually I did manage to take a photo of one of the young Great Crested Grebes and its parent before my first bus to work arrived at the stop.

I'd spotted their nest, which was very close to the bus stop, a few weeks ago and tried to photograph it once from the opposite bank but it had been virtually impossible to do so because it was so well hidden by an overhanging tree. I did not try again after that as I didn't want to draw any unwanted attention to the nest because, even though the bank was rather steep, it was not impossible to reach it for someone who didn't have the best intentions. Since they've left the nest, I only once spotted both parents and their two youngsters but I had to give photographing them a miss then because I didn't want to miss my bus to work.

Thank you very much for the kind comments and stars on yesterday's Blackbird blip. I apologise for my own lack of comments on other journals but my cold is still quite bad and the bright light from the laptop is hurting my eyes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.