The Mens’ Quarters

This is a photo (taken today) of a print of a scan of an old photo that was taken by my father when he was about 20. That’s him in the centre. The scene is the kitchen of the mens’ quarters on a large sheep station in inland Marlborough, New Zealand. The woman cooked for the men, but not for the family in the homestead. I have forgotten her name.

Dad was a farmhand, but his interests are reflected in the shot. The experimental indoor night shot is typical of him. The wireless, with its battery and amplifier is a natural progression from the crystal sets he built as a schoolboy. And on the wireless is his flute.

This photo has always fascinated me. As a child I wondered at the fact that he took the photo himself. Sometimes we would look at the photo together and he would talk about his life on the station and the other people who lived there. The original photo is dark with deep shadows and blown-out highlights and it was not until I scanned it and opened it in PhotoShop that the details emerged. It was amazing what lurked in the shadows and highlights that I was able to bring forth. The time is ten o’clock. The light source still puzzles me. Obviously a mirror is being used.

What can you see? It’s best to look at the large version.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.