Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hackles up

I was all set to blip my first little flower crab spider of the year but then I caught this encounter and decided that I liked the drama of it, even if it isn't as good a photo technically.  You may recall that earlier this spring I trapped and relocated a male house sparrow that had bonded with one of my nest boxes and was menacing the bluebirds.  Since then there have been other house sparrows coming around to eat, but none showing any interest in any of the boxes.  So, I tolerate them.  

Interestingly, many of the smaller cavity-nesting birds regard the house sparrows with alarm - as if they know on some basic level the devastation those little sparrows can wreak in a nest.  It's quite humorous to see the downy woodpeckers (which are about 6 inches/15 cm long) get all up in arms and raise every single little red feather on their heads in an attempt to look as menacing as possible.  I always turn away when I laugh, so as not to embarrass them.  

Hubs and I went to a funeral service this morning for Lillian, who was MIL's roommate when she first got back up her to NJ this January.  Lillian passed about a month ago, shortly after her 99th birthday.  She had severe dementia, but still had such an energy about her, and we enjoyed her very much.  We also got to know both of her adult children as they visited daily.  Anyway, it felt right to go to the mass and pay our respects to her family - I think they appreciated it.  And we loved seeing the collection of photos from Lillian's rather remarkable life.  

Hubs saw a bear on the patio (gulp) this morning before I got up.  Fortunately, I bring all the feeders in at night so there was nothing for it to eat.  Suspect it's the same bear I've seen around a few times recently.  I'm keeping a sharp eye when I'm in the garden.  And speaking of feeders...

Last night when I went to go out on our deck and bring the last feeder in, just after dark, I discovered myself eye to eye with a raccoon.  I was just about to walk out our glass storm door when I saw the little vagrant staring at me from about 5 feet away - at about the same time I realized Charlie the cat was at my feet and puffed up to about the size of the raccoon.  The 'coon ran down the steps and Charlie shot to nearest window, gnashing his teeth.  As for me - I waited a few minutes before carefully retrieving that last feeder. It's not easy running a Bird Bistro, people.

xo
Debbi

Breaking News:  As of 4:30 this afternoon, six of the 7 House Wren eggs in the first nest box have hatched!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.