Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Tiny Buffalo Fan

Despite being born in Albuquerque, New Mexico, little Dino is being raised as a Buffalo Bills fan. My family grew up with the Bills and their players.  From the time of the inception of the AFL in 1960, my parents had season tickets.  Many of the players and staff were patrons of my parents' restaurant.  We also got to be personal friends with many of them: from those old days, through OJ Simpson (he wasn't always a creep) and the Super Bowl era guys.  When Rich Stadium was built in the suburbs, it was less than 2 miles from our house.  As teens, we would occasionally walk to the games and try to sneak in.

My fondest memory of the Bills players, coaches and staff will always be their attendance at my dad's wake on Memorial Day weekend in 1992.  The members of that Super Bowl era team who lived year round in Western new York showed up.  It took away a lot of the pain from that night.  Dad was 59.

Three generations after my dad and we're still Bills fans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.