Chapelside

We were privileged, today, to be able to visit this property under the National Open Garden Scheme. I have been meaning to visit it for ages as it has been owned for the last 40 years by an ex-colleague of The Man's and an ex-teacher at my school.

Plants I have struggled to grow were self-seeding like weeds amongst the gravel. Whilst it was carefully maintained, it had been allowed to look natural in a random cottage-garden style so in keeping with the house but then ran out into "woodland" as it reached the foot of the fells.

I sat on every seat to appreciate the owners' pleasure in their creation.

All I could say was: "Wow! Wow! Wow!" at every turn a new "room" to the garden. The outbuildings made an amazing addition to the property, too! Oh, to live there! Still, a lot of money and devotion has gone into the making of it! I will be content with my end-of-terrace property with it's reasonable-sized garden and will keep the memory of how Tricia and Robin created theirs.

I haven't kept its location private as it has been featured in every local glossy  magazine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.