Mono Monday - #176 Blip Names

I am delighted with the response to this challenge and am having so much fun reading through the entries.
My Blip name comes from my nickname given to me by a nurse at my workplace about 30 years ago. We weren't close friends then but I offered my flat in Richmond, (Melbourne) to her when I went overseas. She was in a share house at the time and was happy to house sit for me. She enjoyed living there for a few weeks and said it was like a little dolly's house (it was quite small). Then she said I was like a little dolly and I wore little dolly's clothes and she was going to call me Dolly. One of the other nurses protested because she had been called Dolly all her life and there was only room for one Dolly in the place. My friend said, 'OK she will be DollyGray, then' adding on my surname. The name stuck and all my friends from this hospital still call me Dollygray. When I married and changed my name I said I will now have to be called DollyK but I became DollyKgray.
Interestingly, when she called me Dollygray in front of my parents my Mum said that that had been her nickname many years ago. Apparently there was a song called Goodbye Dolly Gray.

I will be awarding hearts on Thursday. (Now I have to think of a theme for next week that will be as interesting as this week's.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.